July 8, 2007

Music Rotation — 2 Jul

Posted in music at 3:18 pm by berzerkeleyan

For the week:

Josh Clayton-Felt “Spirit Touches Ground” (2002)genre: College Indie Rock.
Kanye West “The College Dropout” (2004) genre: Hip Hop. I came late to the party on this one. Wow. The first listen blew me away. I’m sure it’ll only get better.
Gomez “How We Operate” (2006)genre: BritPop/Emoschlock. In heavy rotation.
Kasabian “Empire” (2006)genre: BritPop/Club. I tried, Stu. I really did. I’m just not diggin’ this album as much as I did their first. It’s merely okay. But I’ll continue to keep throwing it up there, to see if it eventually sticks.
Delays “You See Colours” (2006)genre: British Pop.
Arctic Monkeys “Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not” (2006)genre: British Power Punk.
My Morning Jacket “Z” (2005)genre: Cosmic Americana.
Richmond Fontaine “Post To Wire” (2003)genre: Americana.
Brendan Benson “The Alternative To Love” (2005)genre: American Power Pop. I recently heard “What I’m Looking For” in a Sears commercial. I know more and more artists are just trying to get paid, but it still seemed strange.
Travis “The Boy With No Name” (2007)genre: Emoschlock.
Rufus Wainwright “Release The Stars” (2007)genre: Modern Torch Song. Rufus creates another solid album. I love it.
Frank Sinatra & Antônio Carlos Jobim “Francis Albert Sinatra & Antônio Carlos Jobim” (1967)genre: Bossa Nova. This was a gift from Fridge. I always avoided Mr. Sinatra’s music, for the simple reason that he was the ringleader of that booze hound clique aptly named The Rat Pack. But I can’t deny that this is a great album. I highly recommend it.
Joan As Police Woman “Real Life” (2006)genre: Modern Torch Song. Another in heavy rotation at the moment.
Leave a Reply

