August 8, 2007

Eight Useless Things To Know

Posted in memes at 10:31 pm by berzerkeleyan

Fridge has forced my hand(s to type).

[ANNOYING RULES]
1. We have to post these rules before we give you the facts.
2. Players start with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
3. People who are tagged write their own blog post about their eight things and include these rules.
4. At the end of your blog, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged and that they should read your blog.
5. 8 is a magic number. Not three.
[/ANNOYING RULES]

  1. I take bizarre pleasure in not getting caught up in mass movements. As examples, I love that I’ve never had a Snapple, and that I’ve never seen “Titanic.” Not seeing “Titanic” was so disturbing to a friend that she ran off and bought me the DVD. That was 6.5 years ago. It’s still sits shrink-wrapped on one of my shelves.
  2. I can’t smell skunk. The odor doesn’t register in my brain. Call it a gift.
  3. Despite my now dainty frame, I once could squat 315 lbs.
  4. I like hiking alone. But the whole time I’m afraid of being dragged away by a mountain lion.
  5. I was addicted to video games for most of my life. It was so acute that I once played a game for 30 hours straight (Diablo II, I believe). No food, three bathroom breaks. It’s true. I’m not proud of it. But what is cool is that all those marathon sessions have given me the ability to stay awake for days at a time (only aided by caffeine) whilst remaining highly functional throughout.
  6. My biggest “I remember where I was when such-and-such happened” moment was when Elvis Presley died. Summer of 1977, and I was home alone watching Luke & Laura on “General Hospital.” They cut from the show, and into one of those ABC Special Report splash screens. Then the announcer said “We bring you the following ABC News Special Report. Elvis Presley…is dead. A chill went down my spine when I heard that. I’ve never had that feeling since.
    My second most memorable “IRWIWWSASH” moment was when the Space Shuttle Challenger exploded in 1986. Fridge and I were in our respective cars driving to his family’s house when the news broke on our crappy AM radios. I nearly ran Fridge off the road racing to get to his TV.
  7. I read “Helter Skelter” when I was eleven years old. I remember the first words of the book:

    “The story you are about to read will scare the hell out of you.”

    It did. I barely slept for a week.

  8. Every day I look more and more like my father. And every day I’m more and more proud of that fact.
    Hmmm…that’s like something you’d read on PostSecret. I feel so…liberated.

Eight people? Puhlease. I barely speak to eight people, let alone know eight who have blogs. I’m passing this along to Stu and Amy. Hopefully between the two of them, they’ll oblige.

3 Comments »

  1. christina said,

    We need to touch base sometime soon. I saw Eric on 4th of July (he and Sara were driving through the city) and he said that he saw you in Sacramento when you were doing a biz call… How are you?

  2. I’ll be in your neck of the woods the week after next. I’ll call to give you the details.

  3. christina said,

    Oh, that will be good. Do call soon.


Leave a Reply

