October 14, 2007

Music Rotation — 8 Oct

Posted in music at 8:37 pm by berzerkeleyan

For the week:

Gomez “How We Operate” (2006)genre: BritPop/Emoschlock.
Erin McKeown “Sing You Sinners” (2006)genre: Pop Jazz.
Aldo Nova “Subject…Aldo Nova” (1983)genre: 80’s Synth Rock.
Kelly Jones “Only The Names Have Changed” (2007)genre: BritPop. Excellent excellent EXCELLENT album. Kelly Jones is my hero.
Nine Inch Nails “With Teeth” (2005)genre: Industrial Goth. Has Trent Reznor ever wrote a song about rainbows and ponies? I suppose if the rainbow was a large death ray, and it killed all the ponies…waitaminute…I think I just wrote a NIN tune. Oh yeah, he’s in love with one of the ponies, too.
Arctic Monkeys “Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not” (2006)genre: British Power Pop.
Mew “And The Glass Handed Kites” (2005)genre: Prog Rock.
Athlete “Beyond The Neighbourhood” (2007)genre: Emoschlock. Athlete have gone the way of Coldplay and Keane. They’re no longer the cheeky lads I loved from the get-go. Still, it’s a decent album. Very safe.
Death Cab For Cutie “Transatlanticism” (2003)genre: American Indie.
Magnet “The Simple Life” (2007)genre: Space Folk.
Serena-Maneesh “Serena-Maneesh” (2006)genre: Shoegazer.
Mansun “Six” (1998)genre: BritPop.
1 Comment »

  1. Fridge said,

    It always warms my heart when I see something I tipped you to enter the rotation. Hope you dig the Erin McKeown.

    Kelly Jones = Stereophonics, no?


Leave a Reply

