January 21, 2008

Music Rotation — 14 Jan

Posted in music at 7:29 pm by berzerkeleyan

For the week:

Paul Weller “Stanley Road” (1995)genre: Northern Soul.
Big Star “Third/Sister Lovers” (1975)genre: Early Indie Rock.
The Arcade Fire “Neon Bible” (2007)genre: Indie Chamber Rock.
Hot Chip “The Warning” (2006)genre: Geeky Techno.
Interpol “Our Love To Admire” (2007)genre: Modern Goth.
Collective Soul “Dosage” (1999)genre: Alternative.
The Verve “Urban Hymns” (1997)genre: Britpop.
Hard-Fi “Once Upon A Time In The West” (2007)genre: British Arena Rock. This has quickly become the top album in my rotation. Full of big, infectious, anthemic songs, this is one you can’t help but belt out when driving the car. Very highly recommended.
3 Comments »

  1. Christina said,

    What do you think of Hot Chip? I listened to them for the first time today. Josh’s good friend in his new home town (Athens, GA) is one of their managers, and I’m taking the guy out to dinner when Hot Chip is at the Fillmore in a few months. I think they’re… weird, but sorta good.

  2. It took me quite a few listens. But I think “The Warning” is genius. I haven’t heard their latest, but I’ll likely get it.

    Give them a chance. I think you’ll become as big a fan as I am before long.

  3. Christina said,

    Okay, will do. I’ll listen to it a few more times.

    We still have to catch up soon… argh.


Leave a Reply

