March 1, 2008

Movie Quote Quiz

Posted in memes, movies at 1:44 pm by berzerkeleyan

I’ve been tagged by Christina.

Instructions: Look up 15 of your favorite films on IMDb and take a quote from each. List them below. When someone guesses the quote correctly, cross it off the list. Leave a comment with your answers. And NO CHEATING.

I’ll post answers in a week if there are any leftovers. Though I doubt it.

UPDATE: I can’t wait any longer. The answers to the quotes that haven’t been guessed are below.

  1. “Well, which is it, young feller? You want I should freeze or get down on the ground? Mean to say, if’n I freeze, I can’t rightly drop. And if’n I drop, I’m a-gonna be in motion.” (fridge)
  2. “This underwear feels kinda sexy. That don’t make me queer, right?” (vmh)
  3. “Fuck Martha Stewart! Martha’s polishing the brass on the Titanic. It’s all going down, man. So fuck off with your sofa units and Strinne green stripe patterns.”
    Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt) of “Fight Club” (1999) convincing Edward Norton’s character that material obsession in the modern world is pointless.
  4. “Wake up! Time to die!”
    Y’all should be embarrassed for not getting this. These are the replicant Leon’s last words to Decker before being shot by Rachel in “Blade Runner” (1982).
  5. “Fats, man…let me tell you my story, man. Last year, I was insane for this crazy little eighth grade bitch. (r.a. porter)
  6. “The review for ‘Shark Sandwich’ was merely a two word review which simply read ‘Shit Sandwich.'” (christina)
  7. “Do you mind if we dance with your dates? (r.a. porter)
  8. “Man… I didn’t join the army to pull paper out of people’s asses!”
    Hard one. This was said by Pfc. Conrad Vig (Spike Jonze) after being ordered by Sfc. Barlow (Mark Wahlberg) to remove a map from a prisoner’s butt in “Three Kings” (1999). Great movie.
  9. “You still don’t get it, do you? He’ll find her. That’s what he does. That’s all he does!” (fridge)
  10. “No hay banda! There is no band. It is all an illusion.”
    Another hard one. Spoken in the middle of “Mulholland Drive” (2001) by the emcee of a club. Didn’t expect this one to be guessed right away. But I had to include it because this is quite possibly my favorite movie ever.
  11. “And now that we’ve been face to face, if I’m there and I gotta put you away, I won’t like it. But I tell you, if it’s between you and some poor bastard whose wife you’re gonna turn into a widow, brother, you are going down.” (fridge)
  12. “How can you stand there? How can you ever smile? As if your life hadn’t capsized?”
    Spoken by Count Laszlo (Ralph Fiennes) to Katharine (K.S. Thomas) in “The English Patient” (1996) shortly after she ends their affair.
  13. “I’m voting for Dukakis.”
    The first line spoken in “Donnie Darko” (2001), immediately establishing the year in which the movie takes place (1988).
  14. “Nick, I’ve tried everything: the embassy, the German government, the consulate. I even talked to the U.N. ambassador. It’s no use, I just can’t bring my wife to orgasm. “ (fridge)
  15. “I am a star. I’m a star, I’m a star, I’m a star. I am a big, bright, shining star.” (fridge)

I will tag Fridge.